Close this search box.

FUNAAB Honours Retired Senate Members

Published On:

March 29, 2024

By Olasunkanmi Olajide & Joy Adeyiga

Showcasing its traditional display of gratitude, celebration of achievements, and to inspire and motivate those coming behind, as well as recognising the importance of each individual’s contribution and the collective impact over time, the Management of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), on Thursday, March 28, 2024, convened a special Senate Meeting to pay tribute to retired Members of the University Senate.

The gathering served as a profound recognition of their meritorious and selfless dedication towards the advancement and prosperity of FUNAAB.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Babatunde Kehinde and other Senate members observing a minute silence for the departed Senate Members

Speaking at the event, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Babatunde Kehinde underscored the significance of honouring these esteemed individuals, emphasising their invaluable contributions and unwavering commitment to FUNAAB’s development.

He expressed heartfelt gratitude to the retirees for gracing the occasion with their presence, acknowledging that FUNAAB’s acclaim as a leader in various domains owes much to the collective endeavours of both past and present staff members.

Assuring the assembled retirees of his administration’s steadfast dedication to preserving the University’s legacy of excellence and innovation, Prof. Kehinde vowed to propel FUNAAB to even greater heights.

His sentiments were further echoed by Prof. Mutiu Busari, Director of Research Innovation and Partnerships (DRIP), FUNAAB, who lauded the retirees for their exemplary service and credited Prof. Steve Afolami and Prof. Carolyn Afolami for instilling the values of discipline that guided their endeavours.

In a touching display of comradeship, esteemed Senate Members including the Director, Agricultural Media Resources and Extension Centre (AMREC), Prof. Jacob Olaoye; immediate past Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Prof. Christian Ikeobi; University Imam, Prof. Idris Ayinde; Head of Department, Agricultural Extension and Rural Development (AERD), Prof. Petra Abdusalaam Saghir; and the Dean, College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT), Prof. Jonathan Atungwu; former Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Prof. Oluyemisi Eromosele, Dean, COLANIM, Prof. Olusiji Sowande; former Dean, COLAMRUD, Prof. Adewale Dipeolu and Prof. Olukayode Bamgbose among others, commended the retirees for their honourable service and for laying a solid foundation for future generations to build upon.

The Vice-Chancellor and Chairman of Senate, Prof. Babatunde Kehinde with other Senate Members and the retirees after the ceremony

Moved by the outpouring of appreciation, Prof. David Agboola, a former Dean, College of Biosciences (COLBIOS); Prof. Steve Afolami, a former Vice-Chancellor, Augustine University, Ilara-Epe; Prof. Philip Adetiloye, and Dr. Mulikat Salam, a former University Librarian on behalf of their colleagues expressed gratitude to the University Management for the gesture, calling for such tributes to become a cherished tradition by ensuring that those who have served meritoriously are always duly recognised.

The honoured retirees included Professor Christopher Onwuka, former Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic; Professor Toyin Arowolo, former Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic; Dr. Mulikat Salaam, former University Librarian; Professor Carolyn Afolami, former Director, AMREC; Professor Steve Afolami, former Dean, PG School; Professor David Agboola, former Dean, COLBIOS; Professor Godfrey Ezeri; Professor Joseph Olowofela, former HoD, Physics, and Professor Samuel Onadeko, former Director, FUNAAB Zoo.

Others were, Professor Dupe Akintobi; Professor Philip Adetiloye; Professor Joseph Adigun; Professor Samuel Oluwalana, former Dean, Student Affairs; Professor Michael Idowu, former Dean, COLFHEC; Professor Julia Eni-Olorunda, and Professor Faucett Olasantan, former Dean, COLPLANT.

The departed honourees were Professor Micheal Ajala; Professor Olubode Oke; Professor Oluseyi Oluwatosin; Professor Samuel Awonorin, former Dean, COLAMRUCS, and Professor Olajide Adeyemi.

Highpoint was the presentation of plaques to the retirees.

Last Updated on April 13, 2024 by Olasunkanmi Olajide


  • Olasunkanmi Olajide

    Mr. Olajide is a seasoned professional with over a decade of expertise in the fields of Public Relations, Media and Communications. He currently holds the position of Assistant Director, Media.

    View all posts


More on FUNAAB News

Send Us A Message

Times Higher Education (THE)
World University Rankings (WUR) for 2024

rANKING OF UniversitIES of Agriculture


30th Convocation Ceremonies

Award of First Degree to deserving graduands