Close this search box.

Department of Crop Protection



The Department of Crop Protection was carved out of the former Department of Crop Production and Crop Protection through the Senate approved restructuring of the Departments of Crop Production and Crop Protection and Plant Physiology and Crop Ecology. The former Department of Crop Production and Crop Protection existed as a unit of the Department of Agricultural Management of the former Federal University of Technology, Abeokuta (FUTAB) that became COSTAB and later University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (UNAAB) in 1988.

There are five academic disciplines in the Department, namely, Entomology, Virology, Myco-pathology, Phyto-nematology, and Phyto-bacteriology. Courses in these different areas are taught in the B. Agric. programmes for Undergraduate students while the disciplines are major areas of specialization in the Postgraduate programme in the Department.

Till date, the Department had been under the academic leadership of Heads of Departments; Dr. G. O. Olatunde (2002 – 2005); Dr. O. A. Enikuomehin (2005 – 2007); Prof. A. Y. A. Adeoti (2007-2010); Dr. O. R. Pitan (2010 – 2012) and Dr. A. R. Popoola (2012 -2016) and Prof. J. J. Atungwu (2016), Dr. Emily, Ayo-John (2016-2018), Dr. A. A. Osipitan (2018- 2021) and currently Dr. C. G. Afolabi.


To be a leading centre of excellence for training, research, development and dissemination of knowledge in all major areas of crop protection in Nigeria.


To provide a conducive learning environment for quality education and training that promotes scholarship, stimulates innovative research and technology development, consultancy and community service for improved livelihoods and sustainable development, especially in our immediate locality.


The department shall aspire individually and collectively to:
i. Uphold excellence, academic freedom, and professionalism.
ii. Create and maintain a sense of belonging, project a positive image of the department and maintain collective responsibility.
iii. Strive to uphold the virtues of integrity, honesty, meritocracy and fair play in all our activities and in development of morally and ethically upright graduates. iv. Commit ourselves to teamwork and seek to build strong partnerships with all stakeholders.
v. Uphold and respect the rights, beliefs and values of others.
vi. Embrace innovativeness, independence of mind and pro-activeness among staff and students in the resolution of challenges.
vii. Believe in and strive to practice participatory management.
viii. Endeavour to effectively and efficiently utilize all resources entrusted to the department.
ix. Respect for and protection of the environment in all research activities

Departmental Staff

Posted Staff

Last Modified:

(12:17 PM)

Times Higher Education (THE)
World University Rankings (WUR) for 2024

rANKING OF UniversitIES of Agriculture


30th Convocation Ceremonies

Award of First Degree to deserving graduands