Close this search box.

Visitor Appoints Renowned Legal Luminary as FUNAAB’s Pro-Chancellor

Published On:

May 17, 2024

By Olatoye Sanusi

The President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria, His Excellency, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR in his capacity as the Visitor to the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), has appointed a distinguished legal luminary and philanthropist, Yusuf Olaolu Ali, SAN, as the Chairman of Governing Council and Pro-Chancellor of the University.

The appointment is in recognition of Yusuf Ali’s exceptional leadership qualities, academic excellence, and contributions to the legal profession and society at large.

With his wealth of experience and expertise, he is expected to provide strategic leadership and guidance to the University, to further enhance its reputation and contribute to its growth and development.

Yusuf Ali, SAN, an alumnus of the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) is an experienced administrator and a widely travelled Nigerian who has served in various capacities, including as a Notary Public and Chairman of several organisations.

He is the Principal Partner of the Ilorin, Kwara State headquartered Yusuf Ali & Co. (Ghalib Chambers), a leading law firm in Nigeria that parades lawyers with vast experience in various practice areas, all of whom are dedicated legal practitioners, specialising in the practice of all aspects of corporate, commercial, and financial law in the country.

He has received numerous awards and honours for his outstanding achievements in the legal field and philanthropic efforts.

As a seasoned legal expert, Yusuf Ali, SAN, has published several articles and chapters in legal books and has delivered papers at international conferences.

His philanthropic efforts through the Yusuf Ali Foundation have positively impacted many lives, particularly in the areas of education and healthcare.

Additionally, Yusuf Ali has been awarded more than 250 honours from within and outside of Nigeria. He is listed in the American Biographical Institute’s Who is Who, as well as in Nigeria’s Who is Who.

Also appointed alongside the Chairman were members who were selected from different spheres in the country. They are, Prof. Muhammed Auwal Hussaini, Mr Abubakar Jalo, Mr. Zubairu Aliyu and Mr Bassey Eteng.

Last Updated on May 22, 2024 by Olasunkanmi Olajide



More on FUNAAB News

Send Us A Message

Times Higher Education (THE)
World University Rankings (WUR) for 2024

rANKING OF UniversitIES of Agriculture


30th Convocation Ceremonies

Award of First Degree to deserving graduands