Close this search box.

Department of Physics



The Department of Physics, College of Natural Sciences, is one of the foundation Departments of the University established in 1988. Recent changes in nomenclature and academic programmes led to a change in the former name (i.e. Department of Physical Sciences) to its present name.

By and large, the Department has contributed significantly to the development of the University and is still striving to ensure that the aims for which the University is established are achieved.

The Department of Physics offers a single honours degree programme in Physics as well as Postgraduate programmes leading to the award of Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy in various areas of specializations in Physics. Some graduates of the Department are presently on the staff list of the Department as academic staff.


The goal of the B.Sc. degree programme in Physics is to produce skilled manpower that is adequately furnished with the comprehensive information required for engaging in meaningful research and industrial applications.

The objectives of the B.Sc. degree programme in Physics are:

  • To provide students with a broad and balanced foundation of Physics knowledge and practical skills. l To instill in students a sense of enthusiasm for Physics, an appreciation of its applications in different contexts.
  • To involve the students in intellectually stimulating and satisfying experience of learning and studying.
  • To develop in students the ability to apply their knowledge and skills in Physics to theoretical and practical problems.
  • To develop in students, through an education in Physics a range of transferable skills of values in Physics and other areas. l To provide students with a knowledge and skill base for further studies in Physics or multi-disciplinary areas involving Physics.

Departmental Staff

Posted Staff

Last Modified:

(2:12 PM)

Times Higher Education (THE)
World University Rankings (WUR) for 2024

rANKING OF UniversitIES of Agriculture


30th Convocation Ceremonies

Award of First Degree to deserving graduands